Non-Recipes: Pumpkin Seed’n Almond Butter

Note: This non -recipe requires the use of a food processor or a high powered blender.

Hey there folks! Fun fact of the day: if you Google “pumpkin almond butter” you’ll come up with a lot of recipes for almond butter mixed with pumpkin puree. If that sounds appealing to you, you should totally leave this page and head on over to a search engine.

Like seriously, go forth and prosper.

I, however, was not at all thinking about pumpkin flesh (I feel like there’s a zombie reference in there somewhere) when I Googled that phrase. I was thinking about pumpkin seeds. I wanted to know if anyone else had discovered the deliciousness that is pumpkin seed butter, mixed with almond butter – or Pumpkin Seed’n Almond Butter.

Side note: Does anyone else do this? This, being: “Oh, I have an awesome idea! Let me go Google it to see if anyone else thought of it first!” ‘Cause I do it all the time. Dunno why. It doesn’t change anything. It just makes me feel extra super special if the search comes up empty.

Anyways, moving on.

So, pure almond butter is kinda boring. It just has no flavor, in my opinion. Pumpkin seeds, however, are sweet and nutty, and bursting with deliciousness. (Plus they are on this list of fertility foods! Babies for the win! Or, something. 0.o). Grind them up and mix them with almond butter and you get a spread that is anything but boring.

So, here’s how we make it: First, grab your almonds and pumpkin seeds, how much is up to you – I go by weight and use equal amounts of each. Then we toast! There are several ways to do this, but I prefer to use my oven. Spread your nuts and seeds out in a single layer on a baking sheet or in a casserole dish.

DSC02817

This is not exactly a single layer, but it’s close enough.

Place them in a preheated oven (350 F) and roast for 10 – 15 minutes or so, stirring occasionally. I wouldn’t leave the kitchen during this time – nuts burn so easily! You’ll know when they are done by their heavenly aroma and deep golden brown color.

Secondly, and this is very important: to make your nut butter follow the directions in the instruction manual that came with your food processor or blender. Seriously, I went rogue once and totally regretted it.

Add ins:

  • Oil: You probably will have to add a bit of oil to your mixture to keep things flowing  (I like melted coconut) but you, of course, can use whatever neutral oil you want.
  • Salt: I make mine unsalted, so I dunno how much you’d use if you want to put some in- maybe a half a teaspoon per cup of nuts? Anyone out there have an opinion?
  • Cinnamon? That would probably be good.

Finally, store your finished product in a jar in the fridge.

DSC02831.JPG

Fun fact: pumpkin seeds are green! This means that your butter will also be green! Hooray!

One quick tip before we go (this was recommended by my instruction manual): Add water to your blender after you finish scraping the butter out. If you blend for a minute or so, you’ll end up with nut milk! Strain and store it in the fridge for up to 3 days.

This tip is also great for smoothies – I add a tablespoon of nut butter + a cup of water to my frozen fruit mixture for an instant nut milk! No straining required.

So, there you have it folks! Not really a recipe, but still delicious. Have you ever made nut butter? What’s your favorite kind?

Leave a Reply

